Good days and bad days

When you have any kind of mental illness, there are good days and bad days; obviously this happens to everyone but it seems like those of us with mental illness feel the difference more acutely. 

If you’re not familiar with Spoon Theory feel free to check it out, because it’s a helpful way to explain things on bad days. Props go to The Bloggess (Jenny Lawson) for educating me on the subject. 

Sometimes I go so long between my mini-bouts of depression, that it almost seems to have disappeared. But like glitter, there’s always more hiding somewhere. 

Luckily I’m able to recognize the signs and can ration out my spoons as required to help me not fall as far down the Pit of Despair. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not easy. Not by a long shot, but most things worthwhile challenge you to meet them head-on. 

I still fall into the Pit of Despair on a semi-regular basis; the cocktail of issues going on in my head make sure of that, but knowing yourself and being kind to yourself are two of the best strategies that I’ve found. 

My Counselor Katherine often talks about capacity, and how we can​ only handle so much before everything starts to spill over and you lose control. She tells me to make time for myself and to make myself a priority. I emphasized the words because she does too. 

As something a little different, I have a challenge for all of you; try to following​ Katherine’s advice, and see if it helps you as much as it helps me. 

Today I didn’t have many spoons, so I watched some TV and had a nap with Dorian instead of cleaning the bathrooms. 

No regrets. 

~R

Leave a Reply

